Absolute list of foods with gluten you want to know

Absolute list of foods with gluten you want to know

Absolute list of foods with gluten you want to know. Many people have celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity and wheat allergy, so it’s good to know which foods with gluten. You can also read the post of how to make gluten free at home and restaurants. This is more about foods with gluten. Let’s learn the absolute list of foods with gluten you want to know.



Absolute list of foods with Gluten you want to know

List of foods with gluten you want to know

Gluten is in many foods we consume already. Getting to know an absolute list of foods with gluten is extremely important. It’s good not only for people with celiac diseases, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, and wheat allergy. In fact, it’s good for people who care about weight control, too. Many foods with gluten contain high calories, starch, and sugar, so knowing the foods help your diet.


What’s gluten?

Before covering the list of foods with gluten, what’s gluten anyway?

Gluten is a protein found in most grains: wheat, barley, rye, and triticale (a cross between wheat and rye). Eating foods with gluten can trigger serious health issues or other insensitivities.

While other grains such as corn, rice, and quinoa also contain gluten, they don’t seem to cause the same problems as wheat, barley, rye, and triticale.


Grains to avoid


WHEAT

  • Couscous
  • Durum
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Farina
  • Farro
  • Freekeh
  • Graham flour
  • Kamut
  • Kernza
  • Matza/Matzoh
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Triticale
  • Wheat
  • Varieties and derivatives of wheat 
  • Wheat bran
  • Wheatberries
  • Wheat germ
  • Wheat protein
  • Wheat Starch that has not been processed to remove the presence of gluten to below 20ppm.


BARLEY

  • Barley (flour, pearl)
  • Bulgur
  • Beer (unless made from GF grains)
  • Brewer’s Yeast
  • Malt in various forms: malted barley flour, malted milk or milkshakes, malt extract, malt syrup, malt flavoring, malt vinegar


OATS

Regular oats are contaminated. Buy certified gluten-free oats and “purity protocol” oats.


RYE

  • Rye
  • Rye flour


Caution to oats

Oats are naturally gluten-free. However, you need to watch out that they might be contaminated during production with wheat, barley, or rye. Oats and oat products labeled gluten-free have not been cross-contaminated. Note that some people with celiac disease can’t tolerate oats with the gluten-free label.


Flours with gluten

Wheat flours have different names based on how the wheat is milled or the flour is processed.

  • Enriched flour with added vitamins and minerals
  • Farina, milled wheat usually used in hot cereals
  • Graham flour, a course whole-wheat flour
  • Self-rising flour (phosphate flour)
  • Semolina, the part of milled wheat used in pasta and couscous

Processed foods with gluten

Read labels of processed foods carefully first. A number of other products use wheat, barley or rye as their ingredients. Wheat or wheat gluten is added as a thickening or binding agent, flavoring, or coloring.


Foods with gluten (in general)

(unless they’re labeled as gluten-free or made with corn, rice, soy or other gluten-free grain)

  • Baked goods: pastries, cookies, crackers, cakes, pies, donuts
  • Beer: ale, porter, stout (usually contain barley)
  • Bread: muffins, pretzels, croutons, stuffing
  • Breakfast Foods: pancakes, waffles, french toast, crepes, and biscuits
  • Breading & Coating Mixes: panko breadcrumbs
  • Brown rice syrup: may be made with barley enzymes
  • Bulgur wheat
  • Candies & candy bars
  • Cereals & granola: corn flakes and rice puffs often contain malt extract/flavoring, granola often made with regular oats, not gluten-free oats
  • Corned beef
  • Energy/granola bars
  • Flour tortilla
  • French fries: be careful of batter containing wheat flour or cross-contact from fryers
  • Hot dogs and processed lunch meats
  • Imitation meat or seafood
  • Malt, malt flavoring, and other malt products (barley)
  • Matzo
  • Noodle: ramen, udon, soba (those made with only a percentage of buckwheat flour) chow mein, and egg noodles. (Note: rice noodles and mung bean noodles are gluten-free) 
  • Pizza
  • Pasta: couscous, ravioli, gnocchi
  • Pre-seasoned meats
  • Meat substitutes made with seitan (wheat gluten): vegetarian bacon etc. (Note: tofu is gluten free, but be cautious of soy sauce marinades and cross-contact when eating out, especially when the tofu is fried)
  • Monosodium glutamate (MSG)
  • Salad dressings and marinades
  • Sausages, Salami
  • Sauces: soy sauce (wheat)
  • Seasoned rice mixes
  • Seasoned snack foods: potato chips, tortilla chips
  • Self-basting poultry
  • Soups, bouillon or soup mixes: many have wheat as a thickener
  • Starch or dextrin if found on a meat or poultry product could be from any grain, including wheat
  • Vegetables in sauce
  • Wheat flour

Distilled Beverages & Vinegar

Most distilled alcoholic beverages and vinegar are gluten-free. These don’t contain any harmful gluten peptides, even they are made from gluten-containing grains. However, some alcoholic drinks do contain gluten. For example, those with added color or flavoring (dessert wines), and those made from barley malt (bottled wine coolers). Always check the label, and if in doubt, contact the company.

Beers, ales, lagers, malt beverages, and malt vinegar that are made from gluten-containing grains are not distilled: NOT gluten-free. These days, you could find some gluten-free beers.


Non Food Items

List of foods with gluten you want to know won’t just finish with food. There are many products that contain gluten. It’s extremely important you can read the label well.

  • Lipstick, lip gloss, and lip balm
  • Communion wafers
  • Herbal or nutritional supplements
  • Drugs and over-the-counter medications
  • Vitamins and supplements
  • Play-dough: children may touch their mouths or eat after handling wheat-based play-dough.

More Resources

How to make gluten free at home and restaurant
Gluten free society
IBS Diet

Conclusion: Lots of processed foods and stuff like supplements contain gluten. Many of the foods with gluten are not-so-healthy foods anyway, so why not start a “gluten free” diet? Cutting sugar and carbs are faster way s to lose weight. It's so easy since so many food and drinks are the subject matter ;)


If you find this blog post helpful, please help me out by sharing this blog post on your social media and follow me on pinterest! If you have a tip to add or contents you’d like to see more on this blog, please feel free to leave a comment below.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.